Annual general meeting 2024

Annual General Meeting 2024

By 03.07.24

The Science Council was pleased to welcome Members to its 2024 Annual General meeting on 27 June. 

This was the last AGM presided over by Adam Donnan, Chief Executive of the Institution of Environmental Sciences (IES). Adam will step down as Chair of the Board of Trustees in September. He will be succeeded by David Wells, Chief Executive of the Institute of Biomedical Science (IBMS). 

Adam thanked Members, Trustees and staff for their support over the last few years, singling out retiring trustees for their contribution to the Science Council: Daniel Burdass, Mark Finnie, Jane Pritchard and Lorraine Turner.  New trustees will be announced soon. 

Attendees were also told that the Board will be nominating Catherine Ross to become President of the Science Council. Catherine is Chief Scientific Officer to the Scottish Government, current Board member and Chair of our Policy Advisory Committee. Members will receive details about how to vote via email soon. 

Della Freeth, Chief Executive of the Science Council, provided an overview of the past year. Della took up the position in August 2023, focusing on the staff structure and simplifying the professional registration process. 

The Board has started the process to develop the next Science Council strategy, which will take effect from mid-2025. While we continue to invest in our work, we will place more emphasis on growth and long-term financial sustainability. 

If you have any questions or comments, please contact Oli O’Hanlon, Governance and Corporate Services Manager.